John Gambling, Rambling with Gambling

Posted: December 20, 2013 in about staten island
Tags:

John Gambling, Rambling with Gambling

It’s Truly the end of an era.  Today December 20, 2013 was the last broadcast of “Rambling with Gambling” talk radio show on WOR, 710 on the AM dial.

If you google the name, John Gambling, you will see a ton of information about this great talk show host.

I remember listening to his grandfather back in the 1950’s, only because the show had the weather, time and when the show ended, I knew it was time to get out of the house and get the bus to go to school.

It always ended with the song, “Pack up your troubles in your old kit bag”, an old WW1 song.

When I started working in the newspaper business, 1960, I would listen on my way home on the car radio.  So I go back with the radio show over 50 years.

After retiring from the newspaper business in December 2004, I started selling Real Estate, and every morning I would listen to John while I did my research on active and sold properties.

Today was a real tear jerker, with listeners calling to give their well wishes and almost crying.

I wonder if there will ever be a question, “who was the last caller on the John Gambling show?”  I was listening and I’m sure Rich from Rockaway will remember.  So if you ever see a Trivia question about that, your answer is right here.  Did you hear  how he closed his program today?  A real class act, thanking his wife and playing the song Roy and Dale Rogers sang at the end of their show.  Happy Trails.

I hope we have not heard the last from Mr. John Gambling.  Only time will tell, but I’m thinking and hoping that his voice will once again be sharing his wisdom with us.

Best wishes to you John.

Leave a Reply

